Dietary Reference Intakes

Chinese Food Home Nutrition Articles Dietary Reference Intakes    

Dietary Reference Intakes (DRI) is the general term for a set of reference values that are used for planning and assessing nutrient intake for healthy people.

Types of DRI

There are three types of reference values that are included in the DRIs. They are:

1. Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDA)

  • The Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDA) recommends the average daily intake that is sufficient to meet the nutrient requirements of nearly all (97%-98%) healthy people.

2. Adequate Intakes (AI)

  • An Adequate Intake (AI) is set when there is insufficient scientific data available to establish a RDA for specific age/gender groups.

  • AIs meet or exceed the amount needed to maintain a nutritional state of adequacy in nearly all members of a specific age and gender group.

3. Tolerable Upper Intake Levels (UL)

  • The UL is the maximum daily intake unlikely to result in adverse health effects.

Here is a DRI example about megnesium daily value.


Chinese Food Home All About Nutrition Dietary Reference Intakes


Other Health And Kitchen Tips:


comments powered by Disqus






Follow AmzChineseFood on Twitter